Why and How to Delete Screenshots on MacBook


Have you taken any screenshots by mistake? Want to delete that but don’t know how to delete screenshots on MacBook? By default, the screenshot files go to the Desktop folder. So, you can drag them from that location to the Trash and then empty the Trash. 

Besides this, you can use many more methods to delete a screenshot. It mainly depends on where the screenshots are saved. Let’s check out why to delete screenshots and how.

Why Remove Screenshots on MacBook?

Keeping screenshot files on MacBook can lead to a shortage of space. It may consume more than 1 MB of memory. However, if there are just one or two files, it may not affect the memory much. But too many files can eat about GB of the disk space. 

If you are using an entry-level MacBook, you might have low space and need storage optimization. While optimizing ‘Other Storage’ on Mac, it is equally important to remove screenshots to keep your hard drive organized.  

How to Remove Screenshots on MacBook?

So, you now understand that deleting unwanted screenshots can be a great choice to free disk space. But, make sure you remove only those screenshots which are not useful. To get rid of them, you can use the following methods.

The first method recommended to remove screenshots from Mac is using the Cleaner App software tool. Launch this app and choose Screenshots. Sort out the files by name, size, or date. 

Next, select some unwanted screenshot files or simply hit Select All. Now, tap Review and Remove. Select the required file and click the Remove option. Free up your Mac space by emptying the trash bin.

The methods used for removing screenshots from MacBook Air are somehow different from other Mac versions. To delete such files from iCloud Drive or MacBook Air, choose and drag the screenshot from the saved folder to Trash. 

Or you may select the article and press Command + Delete. Click Continue to confirm you want to remove that file with clear intention. Then, move that secured article to the Trash.   

If you use MacBook Pro, you can use the same Cleaner App by following the steps mentioned above. However, if you are looking for an easier way, then simply select the screenshot you want to delete. 

Now, press the Command and Delete keys together. One or more files can be removed by hitting with two-finger on the screenshot folder and clicking Move to Bin. Also, empty the bin for permanent deletion.

  • Remove Screenshot Instantly

Do you need to remove screenshots instantly? Follow the manual way to delete screenshots from the MacBook Air Screen. For this, open the MacBook Air Screen and access the Desktop folder. Choose the folder and double-click on it. 

You will see a pop-up menu in the Finder Window. Click on every screenshot and tap the spacebar to see the complete frame. Choose the screenshot you want to remove and drag that to the Trash.

If you are wondering how to delete screenshots on MacBook automatically, then use CleanMyMac X. Using its Space Lens tool, you can identify what is consuming the most disk space on your system. 

To remove screenshots, launch this app and select Space Lens. Click the Users folder twice and next to your user folder. Double-click the Desktop folder and check the box of required screenshots. Then, hit Remove.  

  • Remove Screenshots Without Deleting

Create a Screenshot folder and right-click on that. Select Get Info. Locate the Where details and copy that into the Notes app. Enter Command + Space, type terminal, and press Enter. Enter defaults write com.apple.screencapture location and paste the copied information. 

After code, type ‘/Screenshots’ and press Enter. Next, press ‘killall SystemUIServer’ and hit enter. Copy-paste the previous screenshot from the desktop to that folder.   

Why Do Screenshots Not Appear on the Desktop?

Can’t you see screenshots on the desktop? Find out which folder you have selected to save screenshots automatically. Launch the screenshot app by pressing Shift+Command+5. Click the Options button. 

Locate the ‘Save to’ option and hit it to see what is the default setting for the screenshots. If you can’t find it, either choose a new folder or hit the drop-down menu and change it back.

The Conclusion

The screenshot is a useful feature that can be used in several ways. It is much easier to use this function than writing down the information or downloading the files. But, at the same time, too many screenshots of large sizes can take up lots of space. 

Hence, it is a good practice to delete useless screenshots by following any of the methods mentioned above.



Source link